Journal of Finnish Studies (print ISSN: 1206-6516 and online ISSN: 2831-5081) is published biannually (spring/summer and fall/winter) by the University of Illinois Press, 1325 South Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820-6903 (www.press.uillinois.edu).

© 2022 by the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois

Subscription Rates: Individual subscriptions are \$40 for print or electronic only or \$55 for both. Institutional rates are \$80 for print or electronic only or \$125 for both. Add \$10 for postage to Canada or Mexico and \$15 for all other non-US locations. Single copies of current or previous issues are \$25. For more information on subscriptions or for general inquiries, please contact the Journals Department, University of Illinois Press, 1325 S. Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820-6903; (866)244-0626; or journals@uillinois.edu.

Postmaster: Send change of address notices to University of Illinois Press, 1325 S. Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820-6903.

For authorization to photocopy from *Journal of Finnish Studies* for uses exceeding those permitted by sections 107 and 108 of US Copyright Law, contact the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. The CCC will send an invoice for those permission fees. Permissions given above do not extend to copying for advertising or promotional purposes or to creating new collected works.

Editors

Co-Editors: Thomas A. DuBois, University of Wisconsin, Madison, tadubois@wisc.edu

Hilary-Joy Virtanen, Finlandia University, hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu

Book Review Editor: Lotta Weckström, University of California, Berkeley,

lotta.weckstrom@berkeley.edu

Editorial Assistants: Kyle Swenson, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Mary Mills, Finlandia University

Editorial Board

Börje Vähämäki, Founding Editor, Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto

Aili Flint, Emerita Senior Lecturer, Associate Research Scholar, Columbia University

Tim Frandy, Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia

Daniel Grimley, Professor, Oxford University

Daniel K. Haataja, Senior Lecturer, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

Titus Hjelm, Associate Professor, University of Helsinki

Johanna Laakso, Professor, University of Vienna

Jason Lavery, Professor, Oklahoma State University

James P. Leary, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Andrew Nestingen, Professor, University of Washington, Seattle

Jyrki Nummi, Professor, University of Helsinki

Jussi Nuorteva, Director General, The National Archives of Finland

Juha Pentikäinen, Professor, University of Lapland

Oiva Saarinen, Professor Emeritus, Laurentian University, Sudbury

Beth L. Virtanen, Dean, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College

Marianne Wargelin, Independent Scholar, Minneapolis