

UTAH STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY

Department of Community and Economic Development Division of State History

BOARD OF STATE HISTORY

MILTON C. ABRAMS, Smithfield, 1981 President DELLO G. DAYTON, Ogden, 1983 Vice President MELVIN T. SMITH, Salt Lake City Secretary THOMAS G. ALEXANDER, Provo, 1983 MRS. ELIZABETH GRIFFITH, Ogden, 1981 WAYNE K. HINTON, Cedar City, 1981 THERON LUKE, Provo, 1983 DAVID S. MONSON, Lieutenant Governor/ Secretary of State, Ex officio MRS. ELIZABETH MONTAGUE, Salt Lake City, 1983 WILLIAM D. OWENS, Salt Lake City, 1983 MRS. HELEN Z. PAPANIKOLAS, Salt Lake City, 1981 TED J. WARNER, Provo, 1981

ADMINISTRATION

MELVIN T. SMITH, Director STANFORD J. LAYTON, Managing Editor JAY M. HAYMOND, Librarian DAVID B. MADSEN, State Archaeologist A. KENT POWELL, Historic Preservation Research WILSON G. MARTIN, Historic Preservation Development The Utah State Historical Society was organized in 1897 by public-spirited Utahns to collect, preserve, and publish Utah

and related history. Today, under state sponsorship, the Society fulfills its obligations by publishing the Utah Historical Quarterly and other historical materials; locating, documenting, and preserving historic and prehistoric buildings and sites; and maintaining a specialized research library. Donations and gifts to the Society's programs or its library are encouraged, for only through such means can it live up to its responsibility of preserving the record of Utah's past.

MEMBERSHIP

Membership in the Utah State Historical Society is open to all individuals and institutions interested in Utah history. Membership applications and change of address notices should be sent to the membership secretary. Annual dues are: Individual, \$7.50; institution, \$10.00; student, \$5.00 (with teacher's statement); contributing, \$15.00; sustaining, \$25.00; patron, \$50.00; life member, \$150.00. Your interest and support are most welcome.

